Engagement Ring

A few friends have been asking about my engagement ring. The short answer is that I don’t have one yet.

The long answer is that Brian proposed with his mom’s ring because a) he wanted it to be a surprise and b) he wanted to give me the ability to design my own ring. Smart man – that’s why I’m marrying him. 😉

So, that said, here are some pictures of his mom’s ring, a sample of what my engagement ring will look like and the inspiration for my ring.

His mom’s ring is stunning.  A sky blue sapphire surrounded by diamonds on a simple gold band.  This is what I’m wearing now and I get compliments on it all the time.  In case you’re wondering, yes, it is mine to keep!

20120308-164321.jpg

Below is a mock-up of what my engagement ring will look like.  I chose a blue sapphire as well but in a deeper color with much smaller diamonds in the halo.  The band will be 14K white gold with small diamonds about halfway around.

20120308-164331.jpg

Last but not least, here is the inspiration to the engagement ring we are designing.  http://rockdiamond.com/index.php/jewelry/loose-diamond-159ct-cushion-cut-fancy-orange-brown-vs1-gia-cool-color-r3776

Leave a Reply

